Posted in Abundance, BeachBody, benefits of exercise, Book promotion, Carpe Diem, discipline, Entrepreneur, exercise, goals, laziness, life lessons, Made to Crave, Pain, Passion, Spiritual disciplines, Uncategorized, Why, Winning, Writing

In which I rebel and decide it’s a bad idea…

So I was really just NOT wanting to exercise today. I have a mild cold and while the symptoms aren’t bad, my body IS working hard to kill the germs, so I’m more easily tired. On top of that some of my hormones decided they were going to have a hey-day with my body.
 
I woke up this morning to Jake asking me to get up with him and I rebelled. I insisted that I needed rest more than exercise and fortunately, he knows when to push and when to step back. He stepped back.
Because after he left and I reluctantly started my day, bringing the middle child to preschool, working on school at home with the oldest, and enjoying cuddle time with the littlest, my little rebellion turned into regret.
I was tired and sagging by the time I had to pick up the middle one and my day just seemed to lose momentum from there. Sure I got some work done, fed the kids, and did some personal development time, but all the while I was trudging through molasses and my brain decided to rebel.
It dawned on me that I have begun to CRAVE the workouts. They are tough and my legs burn and my lungs burn and my arms burn and…you get the picture. The point is, that my body and brain are adjusting to this schedule and craving the natural high that comes along with an active lifestyle.
It’s not that I was sedentary or anything before. I worked out, but I did it so sporadically and half-heartedly. While I enjoyed the results when I DID work out, I hadn’t given my body time to form the habit and thus, it wasn’t something my brain and body called a need.
A book that I’ve requested from my library, but haven’t received yet, is called Made to Crave by Lysa Terkeurst. Believe me, I’ll be doing a review as soon as I read the last word. In the meantime, just the title makes a whole lot of sense to me.
Our bodies are designed to grow and function at optimum levels and thrive. Obviously we live in a disease and death ridden world. The ideals cannot always be attained. But I’m not going to throw in the towel without giving it EVERYTHING I have and pushing my limits past the limit until I know beyond a doubt that I’ve reached the peak. Then I’m going to look at the view and enjoy the summit for as long as I can.
Jake got home late from work and asked me again if I’d be interested in working out. I was tired and dragging, but I gave in to the craving and we did it.
Boy do I feel satisfied.
20160203_221754
Leave a Reply

