Posted in faith, God, Gratitude, Joy, life lessons, Love, Rain

In which I soak in the rainy days…

155406169_2bcb8c025f_o

Matthew 7:25

New American Standard Bible (NASB)

And the rain fell, and the floods came, and the winds blew and slammed against that house; and yet it did not fall, for it had been founded on the rock.

My house has been slammed with rain lately. Family issues, health problems (though mild, they’ve given us pause), busyness, exhaustion and lack of sleep. Can I also include child rearing in the rainy days? Sometimes, it’s sunny and good. Of late, it’s been rain and storm clouds.

I love rainy days. Don’t get me wrong. They have their own charm and appeal. It’s not that rainy days are bad.

It’s when the rainy days overwhelm the sunny ones and I’m drenched in the deluge. When I’m keeping my head above water and uncertain how long I can tread without going under.

I wonder how Noah felt in the flood. It only tells us what a faithful man he was and how he obeyed God without knowing the end result. How he was counted among the faithful and saw the fruit once death took him. That’s great and wonderful, but he was human. He had to have moments of doubt at times, right? When the flood waters rose and the dove returned empty-clawed. Surely, he was not the epitome of perfect faith at all times in that 120 years of building and endless weeks of floating on the sea-covered world. Surely, he struggled with the weight of his choice as the animals grew restless and his sons wondered if their father had gone off his rocker.

Yet he still walked with God.

I’m fascinated by the concept of rain. It has the greatest potential for strong, healthy, new growth. It also has the potential for immense destruction. Sometimes in the same rain storm even.

Once it’s exhausted itself on the unsuspecting earth and the sun casts a rainbow against the retreating clouds, everything is fresh and new and whole again.

That is a guarantee, God’s own promise and I cling to it on the rainy days, soaking in the sweet, life-giving water and praying that He gives me the strength to get through the flood.

Then the sun breaks through and I am refreshed, resting in His unfailing love as it falls like gentle drops of rain.

Leave a Reply

