Posted in Humor, Writing

In which I muse on the level I’ve reached…

Today is somewhere between an “I can’t do it” and an “I want to do it” day.

Have you ever seen one of those cartoons? I’ll post a picture so you get the idea.Image

This is what I’m getting at. It’s not that I won’t do it. It’s definitely not that I’ve done it.

What can’t I do that I want to do? Get my manuscripts published and let them fly out into the world.

Oh, and take a nap.

I’m having a rough day if you couldn’t tell. Kind of a doldrums, don’t-want-to-do-housework, sleep or eat chocolate, for the love of all that is HOLY–GO TO BED, help me sort of day. The sun is shining, the snow is melting, my husband loves me, my kids are fine except for their penchant for avoiding nap time.

Nothing is wrong about today…except something is wrong with me. This sounds crazy just writing it down. I want to be selfish today. I have no interest in doing anything for anyone else today. And isn’t that just so sad? I could blame all of this on hormones or winter blues or a myriad other excuses. When it comes down to it though, it’s just me and my selfishness. Me and my wanting a quick fix to everything and not finding it.

It’s temporary. I know that, because I’ve gone through it before. I just hate that I’m in it right now.

Pardon me while I go change a poopy diaper–at least that better be why my son is still running around out in the living room when he should be sleeping soundly in his bed.

I could really use a vacation right now…

Leave a Reply

