Posted in Faith, Hope, and Love, Financial Peace, Marriage and Family, Writing

In which I muse on plans and ponder dreams

I went into college to get a degree. I was 100% sure I wanted to get a nursing degree and I went for it. $50,000 in debt later, I got my degree all right. I also put a huge dent in my hopes and dreams for the future. The crazy thing was, I look back and don’t regret the degree itself. It’s a great degree to have. Of course, being that I never wanted to be a career woman, it will more than likely only be used if (God forbid) Jake was unable to work.

So was it really worth it in the end? I’m still not sure.

My dream didn’t look at all like a nursing degree and $50K in student loans.

I have wanted to be a writer from the time I could pen stories in the dozens of journals I’ve filled over the years. Writing doesn’t make money though–not for the average person. And I’m not going to compromise my own moral convictions to write trash just so I can become an overnight success with crappy grammar and an equally crappy storyline.

Oh, to be an overnight success–with a great storyline and excellent grammar. I dream big, but until it happens, that’s all it is. A dream.

So I plan. I write. I don’t practice using my degree–unless you count the minor medical care I give to my family members.

Don’t read this post and think I am discontent with my life. I am far from discontent. My life is amazing and beautiful and messy and crazy and chaotic and joyful and–I could go on…

I won’t.

We have about six or seven more months before that last dollar is paid down on our student loans. I would really love it if it was sooner. Heck, I’d love it if all of the debt just disappeared with the winter snow and my 29th birthday would be a day for celebrating the lack of money owed. Slavery to debtors just isn’t a birthday present I ever want to have again.

EVER. My family will never know what it means to be indebted to another person again…save for the continuing debt of love. I hate being a slave to money. I hate that I was stupid enough to become a slave to it.

I am so very glad that this year, 2013, will be the year of our freedom.

And maybe someday, my dream of getting published will no longer be just a dream.

Leave a Reply

